TMW: SPOT on Denmark

TMW: SPOT on Denmark

18:00 Doors open and welcome drinks
19:00 Maria Faust Sacrum Facere (DK)
20:00 Heimatt (DK)
21:00 Okay Funky (DK)
22:00 ASBJØRN (DK)
23:00 Exil (DK)

Maria Faust (born 1979 in Kuressaare) is an Estonian saxophone player and composer living in Copenhagen, Denmark. Faust is best known in the fields of third stream jazz, modern big band music, improvised music, and other more alternative music styles. She is a member and co-founder of the musical collective and record label Barefoot Records. Maria is a multiple winner of Danish Music Awards 2014 in categories “Jazz Composer of the Year” and “Cross-over Album of the Year”. She has been nominated for Estonian Music Awards several times. She leads many of her own bands, including Maria Faust Jazz Catastrophe, Maria Faust Sacrum Facere and Shitney Spears, as well as playing solo concerts and being a member of other smaller constellations.

Heimatt’s own indie folk-pop floods grandiose tales and Nordic climes of catchy melodies and energetic live performances. The group released their debut-album in march 2015 through Playground Music and have both in 2014 and 2015 been a festival favourite in Denmark, but also breaking outside the borders playing Reeperbahn Festival and Nordic Delight. Heimatt means homewards in neo-Norwegian and describes Grilstad’s feelings concerning his split nationality: ”After all I am a child of both countries, but despite growing up in Denmark i so strongly feel the Norwegian part of me after having spent a majority of my spare time up there when I was younger. The impressions are completely different up there – the nature and the wild. I think the music reflects both as well. – Magnus Grilst

“These guys are inspired by music from around the world, pulling inspiration from niche genres such as their African drums and Brazilian vocal samples. Despite their worldly influence, they all have roots in the Copenhagen underground” Noisey
Okay Funky are signed to DONE music (Sony Music sub label) with a forthcoming EP to be released in 2016.

Ever since the release of his 2012 debut album Sunken Ships, Asbjørn has been known for his visionary electronic pop songs and riveting live shows stirring up interest way beyond the shores of his native Denmark. In the course of 2014 he released eight singles with accompanying videos telling a continuous story of boyhood, young love, and body surrender. With the addition of another four new songs – including his latest single Scandinavian Love – on November 6, 2015 Asbjørn’s long awaited follow-up album – Pseudo Visions – was released across Europe by Berlin label Sinnbus Records ( Asbjørn is touring 3-12 November in DE and CH.

is a new act on the danish electronic/indie scene. The band has undergone a major transformation during the past year – starting out as an instrumental trio, making ambient music you could fit in a movie, to become a “classic” 4 piece band with guitar, bass, drums and vocals. The band features original music by spherical and sometimes aggressive character – open soundscapes, tenacious beats and strong melodies. A collaboration with danish singer/songwriter Anna Scharling has added a new dimension to EXIL. Annas unique vocal and her use of effects, contributes to their music in a way that brings you a couple of decades back – somewhere between the hypnotising impact of trip hop forefathers Massive Attack/Portishead, and the milestone ‘OK computer’ by art rock legends Radiohead.”